And the Gavel Goes To

In December of 2011, Mary Martinez passed the Utah Chapter of Romance Writer’s of America to me. Yesterday, I passed the gavel to Jodee Steffensen. Best Wishes, Jodee.

I found benefits as well as detriments. The presidency was one, a wonderful way to get to know your chapters members. You brush up on your organizational skills, you meet individuals that you probably wouldn’t and you become acquainted with all of RWA’s policies and feel a lot more comfortable with that knowledge. But, it also took a major chunk out of my writing time. Whine 😦

I think our chapter is one of the best groups I’ve ever been a part of, which is why I ran for presidency. If I feel like I can make a difference or contribute healthily, I jump in with both legs. It was an experience that I enjoyed for the most part, and grew in. I think I’m a stronger person with more confidence. I’ve never been a wall flower, on the contrary…have mouth, tends to open it often… But, I feel like my questions, concerns and ideas are being taken to heart.

Now, I can apply what I’ve learned to strengthen my writing. And, I have oodles of time to accomplish this. 🙂

So, I’m making 2012 the year I finish three manuscripts begging for edits and query by tens. It is also the year, I will be publishing “Excuse Me.” I’ll keep everyone updated as I get the cover work done.

 

Until then, always keep an eye to possible characters. Observation is the invention of Characters!

 

 

This entry was posted in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And the Gavel Goes To

  1. Congrats on what sounds like a great year! Service is a great way to get involved in your chapter. I’ve been Treasurer of mine for 7 or 8 years (I’ve lost count LOL). It’s not near the time-drain as the presidency, but came with many of the benefits you describe, so I keep doing it as long as no one else volunteers. Good luck with your submissions and upcoming release!

Leave a Reply

