Interview with Mary Martinez

Today, I am pleased to welcome Mary Martinez 

Thanks Doree for letting me ramble at your place today. I’m very excited because this is a day that I’ve been waiting for forever.  The Beckett Series first book, Disappear, is here! I’ll save that for last though, so let’s just visit a bit, is that okay? I brought a bottle of wine—I know that your friend Lisa likes, that box stuff, I didn’t want to take any chances. Not that I’m a snob or anything. Well actually I am, when it comes to wine and food. Maybe that’s why my pants are so snug. Oh, everyone I also brought some appetizers, so fill your plates. Doree where would you like us all?

Doree: Pick a comfortable cushion where ever you’d like. So Mary, give us a bit of background about yourself.

Mary: So you want your readers to go to sleep? I’m not exciting, that’s why I have imaginary friends I write about!

Okay, here goes. I have a new day job with the State of Utah. It’s very interesting and I really like my new co-workers. I’d tell you a bit about what I do all day, but then I’d have to find a place to stash your body in the west desert. Just kidding (but it made it sound intriguing right?).

I am a part of a team. I’m the Nana in Papa and Nana. Every Wednesday night is Papa and Nana night and our house erupts in chaos, I love it. We have seven grandkids, five boys and two girls.

Ron and I love to tailgate and we have season tickets to the University of Utah (UTES) football games and the women’s basketball games. We even got married at football tailgating in 1999. In fact, as I write this I’m rushing because I have to get ready for a Hot Dog Festival tailgate for Senior day for the Lady Utes basketball.

My life is busy and full. I love all of my friends and my family—how in the world did I get so blessed. Okay now I’m getting sappy. Next question please.

Doree: Is this your first series? Will you do more?

Mary: Yes The Beckett Series is my first. I feel like I’m a part of their family. There are three books, the first about Tyler, the second about Jessica and the third about Christine. Martha and Fred Beckett, the rents, have a bigger brood than these three. There are the twins, Raven and Glenna. They are in California. Raven the wild one, all leather and boots. Rides a Harley, the whole nine yards. Glenna total opposite, shopping is therapeutic for even a hangnail. And last but not least Matt the financial wizard. So… you never know what will happen next.  And will I do more? What a question! I’ve already started on a new series. The Bride Dress Diaries. The first book is complete and I’m tweaking it at the moment.  Three Weddings and a Dress. I think everyone is going to love Bella. No not a vampire, a dress.

Doree: Since I  write YA and MG, I understand that you are collaborating with your grandsons on a book. Can you tell us a little about it.

Mary: Okay everyone fill your glasses and plates, I’m about to launch a story about the kids. Yes, I’m writing as Nana Martinez, and the series will be called the Nana Adventures. The first book will be History Mystery.  The three oldest boys each have their own character, and each with a special power.  Our story is set in a little town on the cliffs of fictional town in central California, named Cliffdale.

The boys and I did a ‘walkabout’ in Magna, that’s where we live in Utah, we took pictures of shops, parks, the high school etc. Then we came home and made a town map on a poster board. Our Cliffdale looks a lot like our hometown. We made a house plan so they could pick out their rooms when they visit Nana.  Anyway we have it all plotted out, the boys solve a 50-year-old mystery, now Nana needs to write it. So stay tuned.

Doree: Sounds like a great collaboration. Before we go into your new stuff, where can people find you?

Mary:  You can usually find me in my office. Oh you mean on-line? Sorry.

Web site: http://www.marymartinez.com/

Blog: http://marysbooksblogger.blogspot.com/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mlmartinez33

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/marylmartinez

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1646623.Mary_Martinez

Doree:  So what’s this I hear about a Book Bomb?

Mary: Yes today is my Book Bomb. I’m not sure exactly what everyone else thinks it is… But my definition is this:  When you have a book release you sound the battle cry and your friends and family gather around for a strategy planning meeting. Then you all join together to swarm Amazon. Everyone either like’s, tweet’s or some may even buy your book. Which will hopefully drive your sales and numbers up launching your book and eventually make it a HUGE success.

That is what I hope it is, anyway. So in advance thank you all so much!

Disappear (The Beckett Series Book I)

Amazon http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007GHO1MI

Print available May 2012

Blurb:  After two years undercover as an FBI agent to infiltrate a crime organization and discover the identity of a hit man, Tyler Beckett’s cover is blown. Tyler’s new assignment is to protect the only witness who can identify the mysterious killer. If only he didn’t find her so attractive. Each day it becomes harder to keep his objective, especially since he knows the interest is mutual.

Keira Cavanaugh is the only witness to a hit ordered by a crime boss. The safe house is compromised and the same hit man shoots Tyler. Fearing Tyler is dead, Keira plans revenge on the crime organization. She must fake her own suicide in order to survive.

When Tyler discovers what Keira plans, he realizes he must stop her before he loses her for good.

You can read the blurbs for the next two books on the web site

Innocent http://www.marymartinez.com/innocent.html

Quiet http://www.marymartinez.com/quiet.html

Trailer http://www.marymartinez.com/beckettseries.html  (Best viewed on full screen)

BUT last but not least, in honor of the launch of: (Place The Beckett series jpg here)

I’m having a month long contest for a Kindle Giveaway. All you have to do is help me spread the word, and let me know how you did it. Details are here: http://www.marymartinez.com/news.html#events

Thank you so much for inviting me to your place Doree, and thank you for being part of my Book Bomb. I have the best friends!

Thank you, Mary. It was a pleasure to share a glass of wine, food and time with friends.

Check out Mary’s Beckett Series, Book One. And, remember a like and/or a review is always appreciated.

Until next week, take an adventure, read a book today. Doree

This entry was posted in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Interview with Mary Martinez

  1. Marie says:

    Mary, that is awesome you and your grandchildren will put a book together about Nana’s Adventures. Sounds fun!! I know you’ll do well with Disappeared. This was an exciting read!!

  2. mlmartinez3 says:

    Thanks Marie! I am excited about the adventures. I am so glad you liked my Disappear, also.

    Thanks again, Doree for having me today.

  3. Yay, Mary!!!! It’s about time! I’m so excited for you and this release. Wishing many, many sales.

  4. mlmartinez3 says:

    Thank you! You know that I checked the date stamp on the file I opened for my character list etc and I started Disappear in August 2009. Back then it was named The Bridge. Wow

    Thanks for being there for me, all of you!
    Mary

  5. Mary, I’m excited to get stared on your book. Good Luck today, my fingers are crossed for high numbers. Thanks for the interview. It’s fun to be the start at a launch and see it roll.

  6. Joelene says:

    Oh I’m so glad to hear another “Nana” is working with grandkids on a novel! “Nana Jo” is working with a granddaughter on a sweet teen romance where she gets to be the heroine. It’s been so much fun. Mary your series sounds awesome and I can’t wait to get some time to settle in and read. Summer’s coming. I read on the riverbanks while hubby fishes. Good luck with the book bomb today – I’m off to get mine.

  7. mlmartinez3 says:

    Thanks Joelene and Doree. I love writing with the boys. And of course they’ll have to have siblings for some of the books down the road. I have 7 total.

    I am crossing my fingers that the book bomb goes well too!

Leave a Reply

